2013 APA Colorado Award Recipients

2013 APA Colorado Award Recipients

President's Award: Janet Bell
The President’s Award is presented to a person chosen by the APA Colorado President for meritorious contributions to planning. Contributions include recognition by the recipient that good planning cannot be achieved without citizen involvement and stakeholder input; that to determine outcomes you first have to determine the component parts of an issue; and that planning is done with grace and integrity, which requires all planners to know their “bottom line.” Susan Wood, APA Colorado President bestowed the 2013 President’s Award upon Janet Bell. In her recommendation, President Wood noted that Mrs. Bell “walked the talk as a planner.” She also stated that Mrs. Bell has been an advocate for good planning not only on the local level, but state-wide. Mrs. Bell shared her planning skills and knowledge with many planners and most importantly did it all with honestly and integrity.

Project with a Small Budget (under $20,000) Merit Award: Sonoran Institute APA Community Engagement
The project was chosen for a Merit Award because the Committee felt the process was one that serves as a template for small and rural communities to create collaborative efforts and open up citizen dialog. The project demonstrates commitment to preparing citizens to be engaged and take a role of leadership in their local community.

Sustainability and Environmental Planning Merit: Bucking Horse- Fort Collins
The project was chosen for a Merit Award because the Committee felt the plan addressed agriculture in a new community in an interesting way. The Committee appreciated the emphasis on partnerships with non-profit organizations to make a development project forward thinking in measuring sustainability. The re-purposing of historic buildings and incorporation of an edible landscape provides transferable lessons and the plan demonstrates community progress by contributing to the modification of local codes to change possible development models.

Community Engagement Honor Award: Lakewood Sustainable Neighborhoods Program
The project was chosen for an Honor Award because the Committee felt the effort provided a new way for communities to address sustainability with citizen buy-in. The systematic approach used to engage neighborhoods and encourage citizens to carry forward implementation is noteworthy and a model for other communities.

Innovative/Creative Partnership & Collaborations Honor Award: Hunter Creek-Smuggler Mountain Cooperative Plan
The project was chosen for an Honor Award because the Committee felt the plan shows unique leadership from a non-profit local environmental group to create new collaborations and a management plan. The group’s efforts to hear all the voices of different trail users, diverse stakeholders, and a variety of land managers is commendable. The Committee appreciates that this plan and process are an example of community-driven land management and were thankful for a thoughtful submission that documents the process. The plan will serve well in instructing others how to manage a challenging effort.

Outstanding Planning Project Honor Award: Adams County Open Space, Parks and Trails Master Plan
The project was chosen for an Honor Award because the Committee felt the project’s strong outreach to citizens, community excitement for the plan, and focus on innovation for agricultural lands could serve as a model and provide transferable lessons to other communities in the State. The plan vision demonstrates big thinking and a clear vision and the document expresses this vision with interesting graphics and writing that is easy for citizens to understand.

Outstanding Planning Project Merit Award: El Paso County Parks Master Plan
The project was chosen for a Merit Award because the Committee felt the plan addresses the rural and county-specific issues, and the techniques used for public engagement are transferable to other rural communities. The Committee appreciated that the plan helps direct preparation of the capital budget and was adopted with much support.

To see photographs from this year's Awards Reception, CLICK HERE.



Like us on FacebookFacebook
Visit our timeline for info, updates, and events.

Follow us on TwitterTwitter
Follow us @APAColorado1 on Twitter.


Subscribe to RSS FeedRSS Feed
Subscribe to our article feed using your favorite RSS reader.

Join us on LinkedInLinkedIn
Join our network on LinkedIn.

Contact Us