Award Winners

2019 APA Colorado Award Recipients

Snowmass Village, CO -- During the 2019 APA Colorado State Conference, the Colorado Chapter of the American Planning Association announced the recipients of the 2019 Chapter Awards. Chapter Awards recognize outstanding projects, plans and people of the planning profession. Planning projects were honored on the basis of their innovation, ability to provide transferable lessons to other Colorado communities, excellent quality, promotion of community progress and the public good, effectiveness of implementation, and other unique factors that make these projects exemplary. This year, the Chapter also incorporated awards presented by Chapter Committees. To view previous Chapter Award recipients, CLICK HERE.

In 2019, the Awards Committee selected two President's Awards, one Excellence Award, four Honor Awards, eight Merit Awards and three Committee Awards, including the coveted Legislator of the Year award. The 2019 award recipients are:



William Lamont Jr. - Planning Pioneer
Hadley Peterson - Outstanding Chapter Volunteer


Andy Hill - Planning Leadership



PlanCOS: Building a Better Today through Reflections on Our Past and Dreams for our Future, City of Colorado Springs - General Planning Project

City of Lakewood Sustainability Plan for Kids, City of Lakewood – Community Engagement

Growing Water Smart, The Sonoran Institue, Del Corazon Consulting, Colorado Water & Conservaton Board, NWC-COG Water Quality & Quantity Committee, Keystone Policy Center, Colorado Department of Local Affairs, Western Resource Advocates, Terra Firma Planning – Sustainability & Enfironmental Planning

The Riverfront at Las Colonias, City of Grand Junction – Innovative & Creative Partnerships and Collaborations

Imagine Winter Park, Town of Winter Park - General Planning Project
Mill Street Neighborhood Plan, City of Colorado Springs - Community Resiliency
Command District Area Development Plan: Peterson Air Force Base, HB&A - General Planning Project
Aurora Places Comprehensive Plan, City of Aurora - General Planning Project
Jefferson County Comprehensive Master Plan Findings for 2019 Update, Jefferson County - Small Budget Project
El Paso County Water Master Plan: An Element of the County Master Plan, El Paso County - General Planning Project
Gunnison County Sustainable Tourism and Outdoor Recreation (STOR) Committee, Gunnison County - Innovative & Creative Partnerships and Collaborations
Thornton Comprehensive Plan Visioning Outreach, City of Thornton - Community Engagement
2019 Legislative Committee Award Representative Jeni Arndt, House District 53 - Legislator of the Year

Youth In Planning Committee Awards

Florence Elementary Schoo - Project Based Learning

Forged in Steel - Innovation in Outreach



RSS Category: 


Like us on FacebookFacebook
Visit our timeline for info, updates, and events.

Follow us on TwitterTwitter
Follow us @APAColorado1 on Twitter.


Subscribe to RSS FeedRSS Feed
Subscribe to our article feed using your favorite RSS reader.

Join us on LinkedInLinkedIn
Join our network on LinkedIn.

Contact Us